Skip to main content


Lakewood Country Club was founded in 1959 

The Club's founders, Messrs. Pickett, Allen and Post, desired a full-service country club, which would serve the growing region, drawing its members from the entire Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. Their goal became a reality as the Club quickly grew with 300 lifetime members and 700 resident memberships. An Advisory Board, chaired by legendary golfer Sam Snead, was established and consisted of influential local and national personalities, government officials, members of prominent area families, Congressmen, sports figures and radio and television personalities.

When the Club opened in 1959, it was a grand celebration. During the 1970s & 1980s, Lakewood enhanced its solid reputation with a series of improvements and upgrades to the Club, tennis, pool and golf operations. In 1991, the main level of the clubhouse underwent a significant renovation, with the lower level following in 1995 with a complete makeover. During this time, continued improvements and upgrades were made to the tees and greens, maintaining the quality of the course.

By 2003, the membership overwhelmingly voted to make further improvements to the golf course.  However, rather than a piecemeal approach, this would be an all-inclusive renovation. To perform this, the Club contracted with Rees Jones, the preeminent designer in the game. His work across the country in renovating courses for the United States Golf Association in preparation for its National Championship, had magazines dub him the "Open Doctor." At Lakewood, he performed the same magic as he had on dozens of other courses. When the new course re-opened in 2005, it was clear that Lakewood now had one of the top five courses in the metropolitan area.  The course was further enhanced in 2014 when The Better Billy Bunker System® was installed across the course.  The result of this is that Lakewood's members have one of the finest courses in the area upon which to enjoy the game.

Further clubhouse enhancements took place in 2009 as a new interior was constructed, creating a transformation unlike no other in the DC area. The new design, with its clean lines, warm colors and a splash of elegance, give Lakewood a singular ambiance for our members and their guests to enjoy upon each visit.

In 2016-2017, Lakewood revamped four of the outdoor Har-Tru courts to be able to be played on year round with a new state-of-the-art Tennis Air Structure.  This new amenity has really put us on the map in terms of being one of the areas premiere Tennis facilities.  Each year in the fall, the Tennis bubble covers the area so our members can enjoy continued play on these classic clay courts during the winter months.  And then like clockwork, each spring the bubble is removed so our Tennis Players can enjoy the sights, sounds, and smells of the great outdoors.

Today, Lakewood is a welcoming destination for the recreational and dining enjoyment of members, their family and guests. It is a sought-after venue for regional, state and national golf events, while remaining a challenging, but fair test of golf.



The Groundwater Foundation honored Lakewood Country Club as a Groundwater Guardian Green Site for 2013. Founded in 2007, the Foundation’s goals are to educate and inspire action today to ensure that future generations have sustainable, clean groundwater. These goals are consistent with the vision of Lakewood as an exemplary neighbor. Lakewood is also designated as a Certified Audubon Cooperative Sanctuary through the Audubon Cooperative Sanctuary Program for Golf Courses. Lakewood is only the 16th in Maryland to achieve this recognition and just the 877th worldwide.

Lakewood continues to lead in every facet of sustainable club life and responsible land management, and focuses on visionary projects to ensure that every experience here is unique and memorable for members, their families and guests.


Lakewood Country Club logo
13901 Glen Mill Road. Rockville, MD 20850
Copyright © 2020 All Rights Reserved       Site by Clubessential
Distinguished Club logo